Home News 2023 MLB All-Star Game starters

2023 MLB All-Star Game starters

by admin

Phase 2 of the voting for the 2023 Scotts MLB All-Star Ballot concluded today at noon ET, and the remaining starters for the 2023 All-Star Game presented by Mastercard, set for July 11 at Seattle’s T-Mobile Park, will be revealed tonight on ESPN.

Here is everything you need to know:

When will Phase 2 results be announced?

Tonight at 7 p.m. ET on ESPN.

Has anyone already clinched a spot in the All-Star Game?

Yes. Angels DH Shohei Ohtani and Braves outfielder Ronald Acuña Jr. each earned automatic starting berths by virtue of being the leading vote-getters in the AL and NL, respectively, during Phase 1.

How many players advanced to Phase 2?

The top two finishers at each position moved on to the second phase of voting, as well as the top six AL outfielders. With Acuña clinching a spot as the NL’s leading vote-getter, only the next four NL outfielders advanced to Phase 2.

Voting for the second phase began at noon ET this past Monday and ran through noon ET earlier today. Vote totals reset at the end of Phase 1.

What are the races to watch?

While some players separated themselves in the first two days of voting in Phase 2, other positions were poised to come down to the wire.

The closest battle in either league, as of the latest Phase 2 update on Wednesday, was AL catcher, with the Rangers’ Jonah Heim leading the Orioles’ Adley Rutschman by 4 percentage points.

Other close races included AL first base (Yandy Díaz, Vladimir Guerrero Jr.), AL outfield (Aaron Judge and Yordan Alvarez battling for the third spot behind Mike Trout and Randy Arozarena), NL second base (Luis Arraez, Ozzie Albies) and NL designated hitter (J.D. Martinez, Bryce Harper).

When will the All-Star pitchers and reserves be announced?

The complete All-Star rosters, including pitchers and reserve position players for both teams, will be announced at 5:30 p.m. ET on ESPN on Sunday, July 2. Pitchers and reserves — totaling 23 players for each side — will be determined via “Player Ballot” choices and selections made by the Commissioner’s Office.

Source Link

You may also like

Leave a Comment